The Joy of Books

With the release of Kindle over in the US, I thought it was time to praise the paper version of the humble book. Even though e-book readers look very sleek, I can’t just imagine curling up on the couch on a rainy day with one. Reading is not only an intellectual pursuit, but it is a very tactical one as well. An electronic device can’t replicate the feel of the paper or the smell of a book and you certainly can’t reminisce over what you were doing the last time you read the book by looking at the stains on the pages.

4 Comments

Filed under books

4 responses to “The Joy of Books

  1. baby~amore'

    I agree nothing beats the feel of a good book …
    did you know you get an advance /free books at Harper Collins if they choose you to review a new book. I signed up yesterday.

  2. Kelley

    I am so with you about this. I got some sorta E-Book reader thing for my birthday a few years ago. Ended up in a drawer in a matter of days. So not the same.

    I love sitting up in bed with some hidden chocolate and reading a book. Getting so caught up in it, promising myself ‘just one more page’ that it is early morning before I can finally put it down.

  3. Riayn

    Baby~amore, thanks for letting about the Harper Collins deal. I will definitely have to check that out. Books are fabulous, but free books are something special. 🙂

  4. Riayn

    Kelley, reading in bed has caused me many tired mornings the next day. Unfortunately, these days, I just can’t find the time to read as much a I would like to.

Leave a Reply

