Failing at Physiotherapy

Back in April of this year, I was diagnosed with Fibromyalgia.  Fibromyalgia is either an autoimmune disease, a neuroendocrine disorder or a chronic musculoskeletal pain disorder, depending on who you listen to.  What that all means is that no one knows what causes it, there is no cure and very few effective treatments.  What it does to someone who has it is cause muscular pain and weakness, fatigue, sleep disturbances and nerve pain.  It’s a bitch.  I had to quit my much loved job as a veterinary nurse and get an office job because my body just couldn’t handle the physical aspects of vet nursing any more.

In September, I started physiotherapy over at RPA Hospital to not only help with my fibromyalgia, but deal with the knee pain I had that no one knew the cause of.  The physios at the hospital noted that my knees hyperextend ie go backwards and that together with me being able to dislocate my thumbs as easy and painlessly as people can bend theirs,  I possibly had hypermobility syndrome too.  My feet are also incredibly flexible as well which means that I overpronate and that throws out my whole walking style.  Therefore, to compensate for all this I developed a way to walk that involves muscles I should not really be using.  When my fibromyalgia flares up, all of this compensatory behaviour breaks down and I have great difficulties walking.

So for the past couple of months I have been working with the physio trying to strengthen the muscles in my feet and learning how to walk properly.  I got some orthopaedic insoles from Athlete’s Foot which helped correct the overpronation and for a short period of time I was relatively pain free.  Then about a month ago, that all broke down.   Today, I was told at physio, that they had done all they could do for me.  My fibro meant that my muscles could never strengthen to the point they need to for me to walk properly and my best bet was to go to a podiatrist and get some proper orthopaedics, which hopefully would provide my feet with enough external support.  Other than that I am to keep practising my strengthening exercises and keep my knees taped in order to keep my kneecaps in place. I am not ashamed to say that after physio I had a little cry and then went to McDonalds for a bacon & egg mcmuffin and a hash brown.  I am all about comfort eating.  I used that time at Maccas to compose myself and get myself ready mentally for work.  Not good falling apart at work.

I am not upset at the physios, they honestly did a great job and finally got to the bottom of the knee pain I have had on and off over the past 10 years, which is more than the numerous physios I have been to in the past ever did.   It is not their fault that my body is seriously fucked up.   I am hoping that the podiatrist can provide me with some amazing orthopaedics that will solve all my problems.  However, a tiny part of me is terrified that this won’t be the case and I will be left with mobility issues.  I already have a cane (which pride prevents me from using when perhaps I really should),  I do not want to go down the path of even more mobility aids.  Therefore, I will be endeavouring to think positively and hoping that the podiatrists will be able to cure my mobility issues.  But tonight, I will be a whiny brat and wallowing in self-pity.

12 Comments

Filed under life

12 responses to “Failing at Physiotherapy

  1. lelak

    Remember that Gregory loves you.

  2. Unfortunately the feeling isn’t mutual. Gregory is not fun to be with when you are only 32.

  3. I’m sorry today didn’t go well. Sam was amazed to run into you there, you were the last person she was expecting to see.

    I have two suggestions (btw, I hate when people decide to throw their opinions at you without considering you’ve thought all this through…I’m really not trying to do that)… but yoga is amazing for all sorts of things, it might be worth a try. You’ll know in a couple of weeks if it’s helping. Also, and you know I’ve suggested it before, go see a naturopath, they might have some good ideas.

  4. Damian – I was amazed to see Sam there too. It was lovely to see a friendly face.
    I am starting to consider more alternative forms of medical treatment as one by one the conventional forms are failing me.

  5. I find McDonald’s Sauage McGriddle Sandwich very comforting myself.
    I don’t think you’re being whiny at all – I don’t know how I’d handle it all myself.
    You’re in my thoughts,
    Frances

  6. sistapastah

    Hi…Sorry to hear about that….hugggggg!

    There is a woman in my congregation who suffers with fibro…some days are unbearable for her..

    you have some fantastic ladies in your corner…..

    hugggggg

    andrena

  7. My best friend has fibromyalgia and I’ve learned a lot about it over the years–can’t believe that some doctors still don’t even believe it exists!

    Many positive thoughts and hugs coming your way from southern Italy from a fellow She Who Blogser 🙂

  8. I am so sorry to hear about all this…..
    sending you lots of hugs your way!

    NOt to copy Sognatrice, but she is on to something. POSITIVE THOUGHTS coming your way… I am a huge believer of the power of the mind. NOt to say that it can cure it all, but POSITIVE thoughts can accomplish so much! So I am sending some from MY corner in Southern California to you!

    PS I like to eat Cheese to comfort myself ! 😉

  9. misseliza

    oh, honey – that was the least whiny post I can imagine, after the day you’d had! Your bright outlook is wonderful. I am sending you all the love, magic and prayers I am able.

  10. my dad has that and can’t work because of it…i am so sorry but we are all thinking of you.
    kerith

  11. nilyram

    oh I’m sorry to hear this, sending you our love from not-so-sunny Scotland.
    Marylin

  12. Thank you for all your wonderful kind thoughts. To those of you with family and friends with fibro, my hearts go out to them. I am lucky that at this stage my fibro is fairly mild. Yes, there is pain and at times walking becomes tough, but I can still walk and I can hold down a job. There are many people with fibro who are in wheelchairs and can not work and face a much tougher life than I do.

Leave a Reply

