Boxing Day

Boxing Day is a holiday that seems to confuse the hell out of most Americans I know.  It is only celebrated in Commonwealth countries and basically is a good excuse for an extra day off to recover from Christmas.

In Australia, Boxing Day is a huge day for those interested in sports with the Boxing Day Cricket Test Match being held and the start of the Sydney to Hobart Yacht Race.  For those whose interests are more retail orientated, today is the start of the huge Boxing Day sales where all major stores offer their post Christmas stock at ridiculously low prices.

However, for a lesbian geek, today is extremely important as it is the day when the holiday blockbusters premiere.  In previous years, we have had Lord of the Rings and The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe.  This year, we have The Golden Compass and I will be heading off tonight to see it.   To say I am excited is an understatement.  I have been eagerly awaiting this film since it went into production.  Lelak and my fellow 30 something lesbian geek friends Veronica and Fiona will be joining me for a night of popcorn and a fantasy film – it is almost like a yearly tradition.  I also really want to see Enchanted (yes, I know it is a kid’s film), because the trailer always has me in fits of laughter.  Also on our list of must see films is No Country for Old Men.   It is going to be a movie going week this week.

4 Comments

Filed under film, life

4 responses to “Boxing Day

  1. Well there you go! You learn something new everyday!! I had no idea Americans wouldn’t know about BOXING DAY! For me Boxing day is like another Christmas Day- catching up with the other side of the family etc. 🙂

  2. I made the mistake of talking about Boxing Day in comments on US blogs and got some rather weird replies 🙂

    So you have to be a lesbian geek to get into the movie premiers on Boxing Day? Who would have thought? 🙂

    I usually love Boxing Day as it is my day to unwind after the madness leading up to Christmas. But this year we were putting up that cubby from hell… would have rathered go to a movie really.

  3. Kelley – Nah, you don’t have to be a lesbian geek to get into movie premiers, but it does help to explain the level of excitement I have about fantasy films.

    Talia – Boxing Day is just a great day to unwind and relax after the hectic Christmas period. Unless you are Kelley and are putting up a cubby house. I feel so sorry for anyone who has to go back to work on Boxing Day.

  4. So that makes my husband a lesbian? *snigger*

Leave a Reply

