(Wo)Men at Work

Men at WorkFirst day back at work since the holidays. Getting up at 6:30am this morning to walk the dogs was a rude shock to the system, especially since during the holidays I didn’t get up until after 8:30am.  It was such a shock to the system that I fell asleep on the bus to work.  Fortunately, I woke up two stops before my stop so I didn’t end up at Circular Quay.
However, the rest of Sydney still seems to be on the holidays.  The streets are practically deserted and most of the shops are still shut.  My phone has rung once and I have been sent a total of three emails.  It is extremely quiet, which makes a nice change to how it usually is.  In fact, it is so quiet, that my manager went off shoe shopping for two hours. My idea of pure hell, but she seemed to have had a good time.

I was going to be extremely healthy today and have sushi for lunch as part of my ‘losing weight’ kick, but alas, the sushi place was closed as was every single other place that sells food that is even remotely healthy.  Therefore, I was ‘forced’ to have a pide and a mango ice tea.   It was a delicious lunch, but I can feel all the fat clinging to my stomach and thighs already.

I have spent most of today on the Aussie Bloggers Forum chatting away to other Australian bloggers and learning more  about this complex world of blogging.  The more I learn, the more I realise how little I know.  It is actually quite daunting and I wonder if I will ever get my head around it.

Another two and a half hours to go….

8 Comments

Filed under life, work

8 responses to “(Wo)Men at Work

  1. Join the club on the ‘healthy food place shut’ issue. What a bummer! I ended up with a packet of chips and a chocolate bar – SHHHHHH.

  2. I’m sitting here drinking an Iced Coffee for lunch – and unfortunately it’s not just ’cause the healthy shops were shut – I think it’s just ’cause I’m hooked on them

  3. Hmmmm…. let’s not get into who’s hooked on coffee… *innocent whistle*

  4. lelak

    Iced Coffee? I’ve had two Double Espresso Dare iced coffees today, muhaha.

  5. Naomi – I am so glad I am not the only one having a bad lunch today.

    Vanessa – You can keep your ice coffee, I am really not a fan of them. Give me chocolate milk any day.

    Lelak – I think I am going to start having to ration your daily intake of Dare.

  6. Rianyn — Today I woke up and before I even made coffee, I threw out a bag of cheese curls (my nemesis) and a leftover bear claw. If I don’t have the foods I love near me, I don’t eat them. My husband and I intend to take inventory of our fridge today and toss anything that’s not healthy. The last time we dieting together, we each lost 35 pounds. But the key is that we do it TOGETHER. Otherwise, one of us always fails.

    Don’t worry, tomorrow you can have your sushi. Good luck. I’m rooting for you!

  7. Shoe shopping – ick !
    Eat some fruit at night to make up for lunch 😉
    Aussie Bloggers Forum is great ! I’m learning heaps too 🙂

  8. Jayne – I am so glad that someone else out there hates shoe shopping as much as I do. I think Kelley might disown us though, she is the shoe shopping queen. Maybe we can just let her shop for us, whilst we go find something more interesting to do. 🙂

Leave a Reply

