Blogging From The Living Room

Dell laptopI am blogging from my brand new laptop whilst sitting on the couch. It is so wonderful not to be stuck in the computer room when I want to be online. I have upgraded from a 5 year old desktop with 384MB of RAM with a 40G hard drive to a new laptop with 4G of RAM and 250G hard drive. It is a huge change.

I have installed Firefox and Thunderbird so that I don’t have to use any Microsoft products when I am surfing the web and using email.

Any suggestions of must have programs that I should install? I have 250G to fill so I am not going to run out of space any time soon.

11 Comments

Filed under gadgets, life, technology

11 responses to “Blogging From The Living Room

  1. That laptop sounds fabulous. No doubt you are going to have fun with it!

  2. Congratulations! And you might know I’m a huge fan of Firefox and Thunderbird. Best thing since sliced bread. I only use IE when I want to see how my blog looks after making any changes to my theme.

    Have fun with it!

  3. Oh cool, you got the laptop. How excitement. Care to divulge what you ended up getting??????

    Hope you enjoy it and blogging from the Living Room sounds very decadent. Enjoy !!!!!!!

  4. LA Blogger Gal

    Ahhh…the joy of a laptop. I will admit that I spend most of my day at my desktop Mac (on the very, very messy desk). But from time to time throughout the day I need a break. So then I pick up my iBook and watch TV from the couch while internettin’. It’s all good. I’ve promised myself that this week, while the hubs is away that I’m going to do the coffeeshop thing at least once – not that I can’t do it when he’s here at work, I just don’t for some odd reason.

  5. Selma: I am lovin’ it!

    Kathy: I only use IE when I am forced to use it at work, otherwise, I am a Mozilla girl. I love my Firefox.

    Gemisht: I ended up getting a Dell Inspiron and so far I am very happy with it.

    LA Blogger: I am discovering the joys of being online whilst watching TV. I might never leave the couch again. Best of luck in your endeavour to hang out at the coffeeshop and blog.

  6. Amy

    Very nice. I really need an upgrade, but need my Good Green Business to pick up a bit before it happens. I have been thinking of converting to Appledom, but don’t know if my oldish brain can handle it. I love Firefox and TB. Here are some links my friend sent me for TB add ons. Great for the calendar and other things. First you need to download Lightning;
    http://www.mozilla.org/projects/calendar/lightning/

    Then you can use this with Google Calendar and Lightning;
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/addon/4631

    Then there is GMailUI which allows wonderful searching;
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/addon/1339

    Also if you like to redirect messages to folks I use Mail Redirect;
    https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/thunderbird/addon/550

  7. Woo hoo! I have a laptop, but it’s old and crashes constantly. I’m hoping to replace it in the not-too-distant future.

  8. Once you have your arse groove in the lounge you will be set! Congrats on the spiffy new toy 🙂

  9. OpenOffice.org (office suite similar to MS Office, but (imo) superior)

    GIMP (image manipulation – similar to photoshop)

    Both opensource software, and very handy. We use them at work in preference to commercial software. Well, for most things – sometimes photoshop IS superior.

  10. lelak

    Naomi: trust me, I’m still trying to convert her to Ubuntu 😉

  11. Lelak – The older they get, the more inflexible 😉

Leave a Reply

