Who are you?

I got this comment on one of my posts;
“So: if indeed you are a thirty-something lesbian geek, as you claim, you’re probably into Le Tigre.”

I must admit I am left a little puzzled about why people might not think I am who I say I am. I know the internet is the place where people assume a fake identity, but geez, if I was going to fake someone to be on the ‘net, it certainly wouldn’t be a thirty something lesbian geek, that’s for sure. For one, I would pretend to be someone really cool as well as thin and gorgeous, definitely not a fat nerdy dyke. I would also blog about my really cool and interesting life where I would be living the high life, meeting famous people in coffee shops and posting pictures of myself at fabulous locations. But there is none of that here – I am really am a lesbian geek living in Sydney, Australia, leading a normal life.

Also, I am so into Le Tigre, I had to google them. No idea who or what they are. Apparently they are an American post-punk/electro-pop band. I guess that means my lesbian cred is now non-existent. Did I mention I was a geek? No idea about popular cool culture, but I bet I could kick Le Tigre’s ass at a Xena trivia contest. Yeah, I am so cool.

5 Comments

Filed under Australia, blogs, lesbian, life, television

5 responses to “Who are you?

  1. lelak

    Kathleen Hanna’s band after Bikini Kill and Julie Ruin.

  2. LOL

    I dunno, you won’t use Ubuntu? Your geek cred’s slipping too, thanks to Lelak *snicker*

    Lemme guess, Lelak’s really just some random guy who’s getting a thrill out of pretending he’s a lesbian female… ๐Ÿ˜€ Seriously, though, aren’t people funny? The preconceptions they have. Although maybe the commentor was joking, and hasn’t worked out smileys. If so, I don’t get it.

  3. LA Blogger Gal

    well, if indeed you are a lesbian geeky kind of gal, than um…you must like other women. Sorry, I guess I’m not good at this game. But yeah, if you’re going to make up a personality, I’d think it would be something fantastically amazing! In which case, I’m sure you’re having a blast in Saint Moritz or Saint Tropez or whatever glamorous place that fabulous (and disgustingly skinny bitches) go for fun.

    Either way, have fun!

  4. Amy

    What I want to know is why you don’t think being a thirty-something lesbian geek is not fabulous. I mean you could be a thirty-something wife and mother of two boys sort of fabulous if you wanted to assume an alternative lifestyle. ๐Ÿ˜‰ It is quite bizarre that they would question your authenticity, but it sounds like they just wanted to seem geeky lesbian hipster cool and talk about a band like an insider. I suppose I could’ve started off our conversations with and Indigo Girls trivia challenge or something, but what would the fun of that be? Oh wait, I actually think that would be fun… Maybe I am a thirty-something lesbian geek… ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Naomi: I just can’t bring myself to use Ubuntu. I just don’t really like how it looks. I guess I am just a Windows user at heart. But the way I look at it, my geek cred is intact, but my nerd cred has declined.

    LA Blogger Girl: I really do like women… a lot. I also wish I was in fabulous places like Saint Tropez, but instead I am sitting in my cubicle in Sydney.

    Amy: Maybe you have the musical tastes of a lesbian, that is very possible. One of my lesbian friends has the musical tastes of a gay man – only that can explain her obsession with Robbie Williams and Kylie Minogue.

Leave a Reply

