Bah Humbug

I am having a rough couple of days.  My fibro has flared up once again and is attacking my legs.  I am in pain, having problems walking and am extremely grumpy.  Unfortunately this has coincided with friends of ours coming up from Melbourne to visit for the weekend.   Needless to say, I haven’t been a great host.  I just want to curl up into a little ball and wish the world away.  Our friends are currently amusing themselves walking around Darling Harbour, a place I probably wouldn’t join them even if I was feeling well.  It is just so trashy, touristy and highly commercial.

To get myself mentally away from the pain, I have been curled up on the couch reading Elizabeth Moon’s Trading in Danger which is the first book of the Vatta War series.  I love Elizabeth Moon’s work and the Vatta War series is my favourite.  I thoroughly recommend it to anyone who loves a good sci-fi adventure and loves seeing strong female characters in literature.  Despite the pain, I have had a nice weekend lost in a good book.

13 Comments

Filed under books, life

13 responses to “Bah Humbug

  1. Awwww… *big hug* (that’d probably hurt in person, wouldn’t it?)

    I hope you feel better soon.

  2. Naomi unless you were hugging my legs a big hug wouldn’t hurt. Thanks for the ‘get better’ vibes.

  3. Good to hear!

    PS. I think maybe you lucked out on the Darling Harbour bit. Got to agree with you… at least last time I was there (several years), there was lots of overpriced crud and an ‘Ettamogah Bar’ that just weirded me out (cos I grew up near the original pub) 🙂

  4. Naomi I just wish my parents would see how trashy Darling Harbour really is. Every time they are in Sydney they want to go there for a meal. There is nothing there that I want to eat at their over priced ‘cafe-style’ restaurants and the whole place just seems so sterile to me. There are much nicer places to go to in Sydney that have a spirit about them.

  5. Yup! Ah well, different strokes, eh? Clearly there’s something they find attractive in Darling Harbour… must admit the views are nice if you’re water-obsessed like me! But I used to like The Rocks… I hear it’s all changed these days. Sigh. I feel old!

  6. The Rocks are still a nice part of Sydney, but I must admit I haven’t been there for a couple of years. I keep telling myself that I should go to the Sunday markets, maybe this year I will get around to it.

    I love Newtown! It is one of my favourite places to hang out which explain why I live nearby.

  7. There used to be a little cafe in the Rocks with an upstairs floor looking out on the harbour… ahhh… man I think I’m getting homesick. The closest thing to Newtown up here in Brissie is really just a pale reflection… nice in its own way mind.

    Anyhoo, cheerful thoughts – I haven’t read anything solely by Elizabeth Moon, I have read at least one book she cowrote with Anne Mccaffrey though.

  8. There used to be a little cafe in the Rocks with an upstairs floor looking out on the harbour… ahhh… man I think I’m getting homesick. The closest thing to Newtown up here in Brissie is really just a pale reflection… nice in its own way mind.

    Anyhoo, cheerful thoughts – I haven’t read anything solely by Elizabeth Moon, I have read at least one book she cowrote with Anne Mccaffrey though.

  9. Hope you feel better soon Riayn.
    Haven’t read any Elizabeth Moon yet, will have a look for her. Have you tried Robin Hobb’s book series?

  10. magneto bold too

    oh babe. Sending you smootches and bugger off Fibro vibes…

  11. Thanks for the book recommendation. Always got my eye out for a good read.

    Hope you feel chirpier soon.

  12. i hope you are feeling better soon…it is a real bummer when company is in & the hostess is down & out.

Leave a comment